The Purpose Driven Campaign: Social Marketing as the Possible Link Between Journalism and Advertising World Social Marketing Conference Recap 2: Picture This

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jeffrey Levy  |  October 8, 2008 at 6:20 am

    Hiya. Great list!

    Just wanted to let you know EPA tweets news releases:

    http://twitter.com/usepanews

    Still working out how to advertise it, but figured I’d let you know. Whereas we’re not really doing much @usepagov

    Reply
  • 2. Pair O' Dimes  |  October 8, 2008 at 12:50 pm

    The Ron Paul twitter is bogus and the Jim Gibbons twitter doesn’t exist. Also, Sen. John McCain is on twitter @JohnMcCain, though I cannot confirm it’s the real McCain.

    Reply
  • 3. socialbutterfly4change  |  October 8, 2008 at 2:30 pm

    @Jeffrey Thanks. I thought I’d clean up the old list, and I added a bunch as well from my list, the Twitter wiki and others I found while looking around. I went ahead and added the one you just listed.

    @Pair O’Dimes Thank you for the tips. I went ahead and updated the list. At one point, Gibbons’ profile was active. However, now the page doesn’t exist. Be wary that there is also a @FakeGibbons account. As we are finding, this is always an issue that fake accounts are created as impostures, a practive known as Twitter-jacking. Some victims to this have been Exxon Mobile, Borat, Stephen Colbert and a handful of others.

    Reply
  • 4. Jeffrey Levy, EPA  |  October 8, 2008 at 2:44 pm

    Thanks for editing. I always forget about the gov’t Twitter wiki – I just sent Ari a note.

    As for twitterjacking, that’s precisely why we grabbed @usepagov. @epa was already taken, not maliciously, by someone who does seem to post occasionally. In fact, I’ve found that “epa” is taken in a lot of places, so we’re taking “usepagov” as a general rule.

    Reply
  • 5. Ari Herzog  |  October 8, 2008 at 6:10 pm

    Thanks for crediting me and others, though I’m curious why you don’t point your readers to lists that already exist rather than creating another list.

    Reply
  • 6. Chris Parente  |  October 8, 2008 at 9:02 pm

    Thanks for the list. And I love your WP theme!

    Reply
  • 7. Nedra  |  October 10, 2008 at 5:39 pm

    That’s a great list! Kudos to @ariherzog and you for putting it together. There are also some CDC-based twitterers as well (at least that I know about):
    @CDC_eHealth
    @eedgerton
    @hseitz

    Reply
  • 8. SocialButterfly  |  October 10, 2008 at 8:28 pm

    @Nedra @Chris Thank you, and I’m glad this list was helpful to you.

    @Ari I created the original list, I think, before the Twitter Government page was yet created. Due to the high traffic for that post and the traction it received, and people informing me of more government Twitter accounts, I wanted to offer a cleaner list here, which was excellent timing with the announcement that Congress can now utilize 3rd Party Web sites. Being able to visually show the robust number of government acounts, I think further establishes why this ruling is beneficial and helpful. Plus, I found a few new ones that were not yet added to the Government Twitter fan wiki list. And, even still, there are always more being created. I do encourage people to continue using the Government Twitter list. To ensure, that I now have a clean and updated list on SocialButterfly, I will also continue to update my list as much as I can.

    Thank you for all your work, as Government 2.0, I know, can be an uphill battle. =)

    Reply
  • 9. Andrea R. Baker  |  October 14, 2008 at 9:07 pm

    I thank Ari and Alexandria for compiling the continuously growing list of the US Gov on twitter.

    And for a shameless plug, I also maintain @thebeltway in which you can submit traffic incidents and events to be disseminated to beyond your follow list.

    – @immunity

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Meet Alexandra Rampy, aka SocialButterfly

I am a social marketing believer, blogger, practitioner, researcher and enthusiast. This site highlights the growing movement of social marketing. Learn more about social marketing and how to be your own socialbutterfly--> here.

View Alexandra Rampy's profile on LinkedIn

Fly With Us

Email: socialbutterfly4change@gmail.com
E-Newsletter: Sign-Up Here to be a SocialButterfly
Twitter: @socialbttrfly
friendfeed: SocialButterfly
del.icio.us: socialbutterfly4change
digg: Socialbttrfly
StumbleUpon: Socialbttrfly
Linkedin Profile
BlogHer: SocialBttrfly
BlogCatalog: SocialButterfly

Bookmark and Share

Feeds

Kudos

Featured in Alltop
Chris Brogan says I'm a Rockstar!

Recent Posts

Categories

Features

Blogger Neighborhood Badge
Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 Unported License.
If you have questions, comments or concerns, email me at socialbutterfly4change@gmail.com.


Site Meter

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.