Internet Addiction: Self-Test to Balance Work, Life and the Internet

June 20, 2008 at 5:25 pm 2 comments

Having a professional job in online marketing, as well as an online hobby, this blog, I am constantly working to keep my internet usage/exposure at check. Today, I thought maybe others could relate…especially when I overheard a couple teens talking on the metro on my way home about this very issue. Thus, I did a little search (is it ironic?) on the internet.

I came across the Center for Internet Addiction Recorvery, which has been treating internet addiction since 1995. The Center offers numerous downloads, resources and materials for groups broken down into therapists, lawyers, business, and then parents and schools. The Center recently launched it’s new blog, which is full of interesting information. From a brief glance, I read:

  • A debate about if internet addiction is really….real
  • that Korea is becoming the most addicted to the internet
  • about a case where a man died from playing Stargate for 50 straight hours
  • how the internet can cause marital problems of neglect (let alone affairs/adult content issues)

The most interesting part of this site, were the self-tests the Center offers. The most interesting is the IAT, Internet Addiction Test which is the supposed first validated and reliable test to measure internet addiction.

Go for it. Take the test and let us know what me know what you think. The questions alone helped me figure new ways to gauge my own internet dosage.

And, it got me thinking…if internet addiction is real, as it is currently being considered to be a new clinical disorder, I think that possibly, it goes beyond the individual’s responsibility to possibly us as whole. As a social media marketer…this definitely makes me think more about the services we are creating, that we are creating purposeful content.


Bookmark and Share

Entry filed under: Blog Talk, Experience This?. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

Host of the Carnival for Change, this Blogger Neighbor asks, “So What Can I Do?” Social Media Highlight: Ning is Great, but waiting for Relevance

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ody Leonard  |  June 22, 2008 at 6:27 pm

    Do CrackBerrys count as internet addiction? If so, that must be the most public display. I’ll need to remember to keep my Stargate sessions to 49 hrs max!

    Reply
  • 2. socialbutterfly4change  |  June 22, 2008 at 9:26 pm

    ha, crackberrys – that’s good. And is the very reason why I have been debating whether or not to take the plunge…once anyone I know gets one, they wish they would’ve…lol

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Meet Alexandra Rampy, aka SocialButterfly

I am a social marketing believer, blogger, practitioner, researcher and enthusiast. This site highlights the growing movement of social marketing. Learn more about social marketing and how to be your own socialbutterfly--> here.

View Alexandra Rampy's profile on LinkedIn

Fly With Us

Email: socialbutterfly4change@gmail.com
E-Newsletter: Sign-Up Here to be a SocialButterfly
Twitter: @socialbttrfly
friendfeed: SocialButterfly
del.icio.us: socialbutterfly4change
digg: Socialbttrfly
StumbleUpon: Socialbttrfly
Linkedin Profile
BlogHer: SocialBttrfly
BlogCatalog: SocialButterfly

Bookmark and Share

Feeds

Kudos

Featured in Alltop
Chris Brogan says I'm a Rockstar!

Categories

Features

Blogger Neighborhood Badge
Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 Unported License.
If you have questions, comments or concerns, email me at socialbutterfly4change@gmail.com.


Site Meter